AAP-CA Priority Legislative Issues for 2016

AAP-CA leadership has identified the following priority advocacy issues for 2016. (in no particular order):

  • Children with Special Health Care Needs: California Children’s Services (CCS)
  • Preventing Childhood Obesity & Food Insecurity & Addressing Its Effects (View PDF Flyer)
  • Preventing Violence, Abuse & Toxic Stress in Childhood & Addressing Its Effects (View PDF Flyer)
  • Nicotine: Preventing Youth Tobacco & E-cigarette Use & Exposure to 2nd-hand Smoke/Vapor (View PDF Flyer)
  • Vaccines: Keeping Children and the Community Safe through  Implementation of SB 277 Elimination of CA’s Personal Belief Exemption for School and Child Care Required Vaccines (View PDF Flyer)

All of the ballot measures supported by the AAP-CA passed. Thank you for getting out to vote!

AAP-CA Positions on State Ballot Measures

Proposition Position
Proposition 52: State Fees on Hospitals. Federal Medi-Cal Matching Funds Support
Proposition 55: California Tax Extension to Fund Education and Healthcare Support
Proposition 56: Cigarette Tax to Fund Healthcare, Tobacco Use Prevention, Research, and Law Enforcement Support
Proposition 61: State Prescription Drug Purchases. Pricing Standards Neutral
Proposition 63: Firearms. Ammunition Sales Support
Proposition 64: Marijuana Legalization Neutral

AAPCA Positions on Local Ballot Measures

Measure Municipality Position
Proposition V: Tax on Distributing Sugar-Sweetened Beverages San Francisco Support
Measure HH: Sugar Sweetened Beverage Tax Oakland Support
Measure O1: Sugar-Sweetened Beverage General Tax Albany Support

High Priority Bills, Session 2017-2018

Name Description Author Status Position Letter
SB-0138 Universal Free Breakfast & Lunch Service in High-Poverty Schools McGuire Alive Support  
AAP-CA Legislative Contacts

If you have questions or comments about state government issues or processes, please contact your chapter state government affairs representative:

 

Chair, State Government Affairs Committee

Jacques Corriveau, MD | jacques.ebc@me.com

Representatives Chapter 1 | Northern California

Aaron Nayfack, MD | anayfack@gmail.com
Lauren Gambill, MD | lauren.gambill@gmail.com

Representatives Chapter 2 | So CA — Greater Los Angeles Area

Mona Patel, MD | mpatel@chla.usc.edu
Susan Wu, MD | SuWu@chla.usc.edu

Representatives Chapter 3 | San Diego & Imperial Counties

Nancy Graff, MD | ngraff@ucsd.edu
Adam Braddock, MD | abraddock@ucsd.edu

Representatives Chapter 4 | Orange County

Victor Perez, MD | Victor.H.Perez@kp.org
Kate Williamson, MD | katewilliamsonmd@gmail.com

Immediate Past Chair

Wilbert Mason, MD | wmason@chla.usc.edu

Staff

Kris Calvin, CEO & Director of Advocacy and Policy | kris.calvin@aap-ca.org
Kevin Sabo, Legislative Coordinator | office@aap-ca.org
Vince Andreoni, Resident Advocacy Rotation Coordinator | office@aap-ca.org

Latest Tweets from Kris Calvin, CEO

  • Loading tweets...